Outstanding Teaching Award 2000 - present

Main Content

Kim. S. Harris

2009:  Kim S. Harris, an associate professor in the College of Agricultural Sciences, is an agribusiness economist.  He was named the campus’ top teacher in 1991.  Harris joined the faculty in 1984 as an instructor and became an assistant professor in 1985 after completing his doctorate at the University of Illinois, where he also finished a master’s degree in 1980.  He earned his bachelor’s degree in 1971 from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio.

S. Jonathan Wiesen

2008: S. Jonathan Wiesen, an associate professor of history in the College of Liberal Arts, specializes in modern European and especially German history, with emphases on consumerism and the Holocaust.  He joined the history department in 1998.  He won the George S. and Gladys W. Queen Award for Outstanding Teacher in the History Department in 2001 and was named Outstanding Teacher in the College of Liberal Arts in 2006.  Wiesen earned his bachelor’s degree with highest distinction from the University of California-Berkeley in 1990, and earned his master’s and doctoral degrees from Brown University in 1992 and 1998 respectively.

John Martinko2007: Microbiologist John M. Martinko (right). Martinko won college-level awards for outstanding teaching in 2003 and 2004. He came to SIUC in 1981 after four years as a postdoctoral fellow at Albert Einstein College of Medicine in the Bronx. He earned his bachelor?s degree in 1970 from The Cleveland State University and his master?s and doctoral degrees in 1976 and 1978 respectively from The State University of New York at Buffalo.

Sanjeev Kumar

2006:   Sanjeev Kumar, professor of civil and environmental engineering.  Kumar was his department’s outstanding teacher in 2004 and 2003.   He earned his bachelor’s degree in 1986 from the Institution of Engineers in India and his mater’s and doctorate in 1993 and 1996 respectively from the University of Missouri-Rolla.

John H. Summey

2005:  John H. Summey, associate professor of marketing in the College of Business and Administration.  Summey, who joined the faculty in 1977, earned a bachelor’s degree in 1962 from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and his master of business administration and doctoral degrees in 1969 and 1974, respectively, from Arizona State University.

Joyce Fetro

2004:  Joyce V. Fetro, professor of health education and recreation.  She joined the faculty as an associate professor in 1997 and became a full professor in 2001.

William Patula

2003:  William T. Patula, professor of mathematics.  A three-degree graduate of Carnegie-Mellon University (1967, 1969, 1971), he joined the SIUC faculty in 1972 after a semester’s stint at the University of Iowa as a visiting professor.  He was promoted to associate professor in 1978 and to full professor 10 years later.  He is now retired.

John Foster

2002:  John L. Foster, associate professor of political science.  He earned his bachelor’s degree in 1967 from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, then returned to his home state, earning a master’s and doctoral degrees from the University of Minnesota in 1969 and 1971.  He joined the SIUC faculty in 1975.

Stephen J. Dollinger

2001:  Stephen J. Dollinger, psychology professor, Distinguished Teacher in Psychology and director of the Clinical Psychology Program.  Dollinger joined the SIUC faculty in 1977 after a year’s internship at Children’s Memorial Hospital in Chicago.  He earned an undergraduate degree from the University of Notre Dame in 1972 and a master’s and doctoral degrees from the University of Missouri’s Columbia campus in 1974 and 1977, respectively.

Daradirek Ekachai

2000:  Daradirek “Gee” Ekachai, associate professor of speech communication.  She holds a bachelor’s degree from Bangkok’s Chulalongkorn University in her native Thailand and a master’s from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, earned in 1981.  Ekachai came to Carbondale as a doctoral student in 1986 and joined the faculty five years later as a lecturer.

All information was current at the time of the award.